The "Texas Public Information Act" (Government Code, Chapter 552) provides for public access to most government records and for sale of copies of such records, including Police Reports. The Texas Administrative Code (1 TAC 111.16-.70) also addresses the cost of copies of open records (fees charged to the public for each copy of a record). All fees are set to cover the actual costs of materials, labor, equipment and overhead in making the copies of reports available.
The Records Department has 10 working business days, by law, to fulfill records requests. Not all reports and data within reports is public information. Records staff members may remove data that is not considered public prior to releasing reports.
In order to obtain copies of police records, the following information must be provided to our office:
Public Records Request: You can use this link for portals to submit a request, track the status and download responsive records
Incident/Offense reports: Provide approximate date of incident, location, type of incident and name of individual involved. To obtain a copy of a report, you may request the report in writing by mail, or you may come in person to the Records Division located at 401 East Beauregard. We do not accept requests by email, fax, or by phone.
Accident Reports: Provide exact date, location and name of at least one individual involved in the accident. Copies of accident reports cannot be released without having two of the above listed items. If you would like an online copy of an accident report please go to the LexisNexis Police Reports. From the report search page, you will be able to search for your report, view it, and print it. We currently charge a fee of $8.50 + tax for copies of accident reports. For Search and Technical Assistance please contact LexisNexis Police Reports at 866 215-2771 or via the link above. We do not accept requests by email, fax, or by phone.
Non-Reportable Accidents: If you have been involved in a non-injury crash or a crash where the damage is not $1,000 or more and the crash was not investigated by a police officer and you would like to fill out a report for your own records, please complete the Driver’s Crash Report (CR-2) (Blue Form).
NOTE: Effective September 1, 2017, per the 85th Texas Legislature Senate Bill 312, the CR-2 form is no longer retained by the Texas Department of Transportation. The drivers involved in a crash not investigated by a police officer should retain the Driver's Crash Report (CR-2) form for their records.
Requests By Mail: Download and print the Request for Public Information Form. Please fill out and submit with a self-addressed, stamped envelope and a check or money order payable to the City of San Angelo. Please mail your request to:
San Angelo Police Department
Attn: Records Division
P.O. Box 5020
San Angelo, TX 76902
Requests In Person: The San Angelo Police Department Records Division is located at 401 East Beauregard. Hours of operation are Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm. When purchasing reports, we accept cash, check, or money order.
Email, Fax, Telephone: The San Angelo Police Department Records Division does not accept records requests via email, fax, or telephone.
Report Price List:
Incident Report: $.10 per page
Calls for Service Report: $.10 per page
Certified Incident Report: $2.00 additional charge
Accident Report: $6.00
Certified Accident Report: $8.00
Clearance Letter (arrest by SAPD ONLY): $7.00 ; 8:00am - 4:00pm
Fingerprinting (must provide cards): $10.00 ; 8:00am - 11:30am; 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Sales Permits: $10.00 for group up to four (4) ; $2.50 per extra person ; 8:00am to 4:00pm
Lake Sales Permits (valid only from Good Friday of each year to October 1): $100.00 per vehicle for full permit term; $35.00 per vehicle for 3 day pass ; 8:00am - 4:00pm
Taxi/Limo Permit: $25.00 for new/expired permit; $10.00 for renewal if not yet expired ; 8:00am to 4:00pm
Golf Cart Permit: $20.00 ; 8:00 am to 4:00pm (must have golf cart inspected by SAPD Traffic Office and bring proof of insurance)